[TYPES/announce] ICTAC 2011: First Call for Papers

Jun PANG pangjun at gmail.com
Mon Feb 14 05:42:05 EST 2011

First Call for Papers

ICTAC 2011
International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing
URL: http://www.ictac.net/ictac2011/

31 August - 2 September 2011, Johannesburg, South Africa


ICTAC 2011 is the 8th International Colloquium on Theoretical
Aspects of Computing, the latest in a series founded by the
International Institute for Software Technology of the United
Nations University (UNU-IIST). ICTAC 2011 will bring together
practitioners and researchers from academia, industry and
government to present research and to exchange ideas and
experience addressing challenges in both theoretical aspects of
computing and in the exploitation of theory through methods and
tools for system development. The other main purpose is to
promote cooperation in research and education between participants
and their institutions, from developing and industrial countries,
as in the mandate of the United Nations University.


The topics of the conference include, but are not limited to:

   * automata theory and formal languages;
   * principles and semantics of programming languages;
   * logics and their applications;
   * software architectures and their description languages;
   * software specification, refinement, verification and testing;
   * model checking and theorem proving;
   * formal techniques in software testing;
   * models of object and component systems;
   * coordination and feature interaction;
   * integration of theories, formal methods and tools for engineering
computing systems;
   * service-oriented development;
   * service-oriented architectures: models and development methods;
   * document-driven development;
   * models of concurrency, security, and mobility;
   * theory of parallel, distributed, and grid computing;
   * real-time, embedded and hybrid systems;
   * type and category theory in computer science;
   * models for learning and education;
   * cognitive architectures;
   * qualitative reasoning;
   * case studies, theories, tools and experiments of verified systems;
   * domain-specific modeling and technology: examples, frameworks and


   * Jayadev Misra
   * David Parnas
   * Willem Visser


The proceedings of ICTAC 2011 will be published by Springer
in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and
will be avaialble at the colloquium. A special issue of a
journal with extended version of selected papers from
ICTAC 2011 is under negotiation.

Submissions to the colloquium must not have been published
or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere.
All submissions will be judged on the basis of originality,
contribution to the field, technical and presentation quality,
and relevance to the conference. Papers should be written in
English and not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format
(see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html for details).

Papers shall be submitted at

All queries should be sent to: ictac2011 at iist.unu.edu


Paper abstract submission deadline: 15 March 2011
Paper submission deadline:          22 March 2011
Paper Accept/Reject Notification:   15 May 2011
Final paper submission              31 May 2011


   * Bernhard K. Aichernig, Austria
   * Junia Anacleto, Brazil
   * Jonathan P. Bowen, UK
   * Christiano Braga, Brazil
   * Vasco Brattka, South Africa
   * Andrew Butterfield, Ireland
   * Ana Cavalcanti, UK
   * Antonio Cerone, Macau SAR China (co-chair)
   * Dang Van Hung, Vietnam
   * Jim Davies, UK
   * David Deharbe, Brazil
   * Wan Fokkink, Netherlands
   * Pascal Fontaine, France
   * Marcelo Frias, Argentina
   * Lindsay Groves, New Zealand
   * Stefan Gruner, South Africa
   * Michael R. Hansen, Denmark
   * Rob Hierons, UK
   * Lynne Hunt, Australia
   * Moonzoo Kim, Korea
   * Coenraad Labuschagne, South Africa
   * Martin Leucker, Germany
   * Liu Zhiming, Macau SAR China
   * Patricia Machado, Brazil
   * Mieke Massink, Italy
   * Ali Mili, USA
   * Marius Minea, Romania
   * Tobias Nipkow, Germany
   * Ogawa Mizuhito, Japan
   * Odejobi Odetunji, Nigeria
   * Jose Oliveira, Portugal
   * Ekow Otoo, South Africa
   * Pekka Pihlajasaari, South Africa (co-chair)
   * Anders Ravn, Denmark
   * Francesca Pozzi, Italy
   * Markus Roggenbach, UK
   * Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
   * Bernhard Schätz, Germany
   * Gerardo Schneider, Sweden
   * Natarajan Shankar, USA
   * Marjan Sirjani, Iceland
   * Fausto Spoto, Italy
   * Clint van Alten, South Africa
   * Franck van Breugel, Canada
   * Govert van Drimmelen, South Africa
   * Daniel Varro, Hungary
   * Herbert Wiklicky, UK


   * Antonio Cerone, Macau SAR China
   * Coenraad Labuschagne, South Africa
   * Pekka Pihlajasaari, South Africa
   * David Sherwell, South Africa
   * Clint van Alten, South Africa


   * John Fitzgerald, UK
   * Martin Leucker, Germany
   * Liu Zhiming, Macau SAR China
   * Tobias Nipkow, Germany
   * Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
   * Natarajan Shankar, USA
   * Jim Woodcock, UK

More information about the Types-announce mailing list