[TYPES/announce] 2011 Informatics Europe Curriculum Best Practices Award - Parallelism/Concurrency

Cristina Pereira cristina.pereira at informatics-europe.org
Wed Mar 16 11:26:28 EDT 2011

Dear  Colleagues,

Informatics Europe <http://www.informatics-europe.org/> is proud to 
announce  the 2011 Curriculum Best Practices Award, devoted to 
curriculum initiatives in the area of Parallelism and Concurrency.

The initiative was officially announced first among the Informatics 
Europe Members last week and we are now publicizing it broadly to the 
whole community. We would be grateful if you could forward the 
information to your colleagues in the area of Parallelism and 
Concurrency that may be particularly interested in participating.

The call containing full details can be found, as text, below, or in the 
attached pdf file.

Kind regards,

Dr. Cristina Pereira
Informatics Europe Secretary-General

*We apologize in case you have received multiple messages about the 2011 
Curriculum Best Practices Award initiative.


2011 Informatics Europe Curriculum Best Practices Award

  Informatics Europe proudly announces the 2011 Curriculum Best 
Practices Award, devoted to curriculum initiatives in the area of 
Parallelism and Concurrency.

The Informatics Europe Curriculum Best Practices Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

  The Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

   *  has made a measurable difference in the teaching of parallelism 
and concurrency

   *   is widely available for reuse by the teaching community

   *   has made a measurable impact in its original institution and 
beyond it.

  Examples of impact include: course results, industry collaboration, 
student projects, textbooks, influence on the curriculum of other 

  The 2011 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives in the general 
area of parallelism and concurrency. It is funded through a generous 
grant from Intel Corporation.

The amount of the Award is EUR 30,000.00

The Award can be awarded to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int<http://www.coe.int>), or 
Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award 
Committee are not eligible. The Award Committee will review and evaluate 
each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most 
two different proposals (individuals or teams).

  Proposals should be submitted only at: 

  The proposal should include

   *   Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;

   *   Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an 
individual or a group;

   *  Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);

   * Evidence of availability of the curriculum's materials to the 
teaching community (max 2 pages) ;

   *  Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);

   *  Up to 5 letters of support. The letter of support will play an 
important role in the evaluation and may come from (for example) 
department management, academic colleagues in the same or another 
institution, industry colleagues;

   *  A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material) 
(max 3 pages).


Abstract:                                                           May 
1, 2011
Full proposal:                                                   June 1, 
Notification of winner(s):                            August 1, 2011

The Award will be presented at the 7th European Computer Science Summit, 
in Milan, 7-9 November 2011, where the winner or winners (one 
representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a 
talk on their achievements.

Award Committee:

Michel Raynal, IRISA/University of Rennes 1 (chair)
Gregor Engels, University of Paderborn (vice-chair)
Gregory Andrews, University of Arizona
Mordechai  Ben-Ari, Weizmann Institute
Thomas Gross, ETH Zurich
Dan Grossman, University of Washington
Rachid Guerraoui, EPF Lausanne
Mark Harris, Intel
Jeff Kramer, Imperial College
Walter Tichy, University of Karlsruhe
Akinori Yonezawa, University of Tokyo

  For full details visit:


For further inquires:

ie-curriculum-award at informatics-europe.org<mailto:ie-curriculum-award at informatics-europe.org>

ie-announce mailing list
ie-announce at informatics-europe.org


Dr. Cristina Pereira
Informatics Europe
Clausiusstrasse 59
8092 Zurich
Tel: +41 44 633 9374
Cell: +41 77 455 2370
Fax: +41 44 632 1435
Skype: cris-zh-work
cristina at informatics-europe.org

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20110316/48ff9e80/attachment-0001.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: IE-CBPA-call1.pdf
Type: application/pdf
Size: 244642 bytes
Desc: IE-CBPA-call1.pdf
URL: <http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20110316/48ff9e80/attachment-0001.pdf>

More information about the Types-announce mailing list