[TYPES/announce] EXPRESS 2011: Call for Papers

Bas Luttik s.p.luttik at tue.nl
Wed Mar 23 06:34:44 EDT 2011

18th International Workshop on Expressiveness in Concurrency

September 5, 2011, Aachen (Germany)
Affiliated with CONCUR 2011


Submission of abstracts: Friday May 27, 2011
Submission of papers: Friday June 3, 2011


The EXPRESS workshops aim at bringing together researchers interested
in the relations between various formal systems, particularly in the
field of Concurrency. Their focus has traditionally been on the comparison
between programming concepts (such as concurrent, functional, imperative,
logic and object-oriented programming) and between mathematical models
of computation (such as process algebras, Petri nets, event structures,
modal logics, and rewrite systems) on the basis of their relative
expressive power.

The EXPRESS workshop series has run successfully since 1994 and over
the years this focus has become broadly construed. Since EXPRESS'09 we
have made this development "official": we are now aiming to bring
together researchers who are interested in the expressiveness and
comparison of formal models that broadly relate to concurrency. In
particular, this includes emergent fields such as logic and interaction,
game-theoretic models, and service-oriented computing.


We solicit two types of submissions:

* Short papers (up to 5 pages, not included in the final proceedings)
* Full papers (up to 15 pages).

Simultaneous submission to journals, conferences or other workshops is
only allowed for short papers; full papers must be unpublished.
All submissions should adhere to the EPTCS format (http://www.eptcs.org),
and submission is performed through the EXPRESS'11 EASYCHAIR server

The final versions of accepted full papers will be published in EPTCS.
Furthermore, authors of the very best full papers will be invited to submit
an extended version to a special issue of a high-quality journal.


Wan Fokkink (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL)
- joint invited speaker with SOS 2011

Björn Victor (Uppsala University, SE)


Abstract submission: May 27, 2011
Paper submission: June 3, 2011
Notification date: July 11, 2011
Camera ready version: July 29, 2011


Bas Luttik (Eindhoven University of Technology, NL)
Frank Valencia (LIX, CNRS&  Ecole Polytechnique, FR)


Filippo Bonchi (CNRS&  ENS Lyon, FR)
Sibylle Fröschle (Universität Oldenburg, DE)
Rob van Glabbeek (NICTA, Sydney, AU)
Cosimo Laneve (University of Bologna, IT)
Sergio Maffeis (Imperial College London, UK)
Faron Moller (Swansea University, UK)
Philippe Schnoebelen (LSV, CNRS&  ENS Cachan, FR)
Jiri Srba (Aalborg University, DK)
Jan Strejček(Masaryk University, Brno, CZ)
Alwen Tiu (ANU, Canberra, AU)

More information about the Types-announce mailing list