[TYPES/announce] ICFP Programming Contest 2011

Eijiro Sumii eijiro.sumii at gmail.com
Fri May 6 04:52:49 EDT 2011

Dear Types subscribers,

I believe this would be relevant to many people in the Types
community.  Thanks!


                    ICFP Programming Contest 2011


The ICFP Programming Contest 2011 is the 14th instance of the annual
programming contest series sponsored by The ACM SIGPLAN International
Conference on Functional Programming.  This year, the contest starts
at 00:00 June 17 Friday UTC (= 24:00 June 16 Thursday UTC) and ends at
00:00 June 20 Monday UTC (= 24:00 June 19 Sunday UTC).  Unlike in
previous years, there is no 24-hour lightning division.

The task description will be published in this blog when the contest
starts.  Solutions to the task must be submitted online before the
contest ends.  Details of the submission procedure will be announced
along with the contest task.

This is an open contest.  Anybody may participate except for the
contest organizers and members of the same laboratory as the the
contest chair's.  No advance registration or entry fee is required.

Participants may form teams.  A team consists of every person who
contributes ideas and/or code towards a submission.  Teams may have
any number of members.  Individuals may only be members of a single
team and teams may not divide or collaborate with each other once the
contest has begun.

Any programming language(s) may be used as long as the submitted
program can be run by the judges on a standard Linux environment with
no network connection.  Details of the judges' environment will be
announced later.

There will be prizes for the first (US$1,000) and second ($500) place
teams as well as a discretionary judges' prize ($500).  There will
also be a total of $6,000 travel support.  (The prizes and travel
support are subject to the budget plan of ICFP 2011 pending approval
by ACM.)

In addition, the organizers will declare during the conference that:

- the first place team's language is "the programming language of
  choice for discriminating hackers",

- the second place team's language is "a fine tool for many

- and the team winning the judges' prize is "an extremely cool bunch
  of hackers".

Additional announcements about the contest will be made at
http://www.icfpcontest.org/.  Questions can be posted as comments to
the blog or e-mailed to icfpc2011-blogger AT kb.ecei.tohoku.ac.jp
(please replace AT with @).

We look forward to your participation!

The contest organizers: Hidehiko Abe, Yumi Arai, Kenichi Asai
(observer), Noriko Hirota, Atsushi Igarashi (observer), Lintaro Ina,
Kazuhiro Inaba, Arisa Iwai, Chihiro Kaneko, Shinya Kawanaka, Moe
Masuko, Yasuhiko Minamide (observer), Ryosuke Sato, Yu Shibata, Yu
Sugawara, Takeshi Tsukada, Kanae Tsushima, Yayoi Ueda, and Eijiro
Sumii (chair).

More information about the Types-announce mailing list