[TYPES/announce] Final CFP: AGERE! @ SPLASH 2011 - Typing Actors and Agents at SPLASH

Alessandro Ricci a.ricci at unibo.it
Thu Sep 1 09:39:14 EDT 2011


AGERE! @ SPLASH  - International ACM SPLASH 2011 Workshop on Programming Systems, Languages, and Applications based on Actors, Agents, and Decentralized Control

Important Dates:

 Paper Submission: Friday, 9 September 2011
 Notification: Monday, 3 October 2011
 Final version: Monday, 10 October 2011

 Demo submission: Friday, 9 September 2011
 Demo notification: Monday, 19 September 2011

Workshop date: Monday, 24 October 2011

The fundamental turn of software into concurrency and distribution is not only a matter of 
performance, but also of design and abstraction, calling for programming paradigms that would 
allow more naturally than the current ones to think, design, develop, execute, debug and profile 
programs exhibiting different degrees of concurrency, reactiveness, autonomy, decentralization
of control, distribution. This workshop aims at exploring programming approaches explicitly
providing  a level of abstraction that promotes a decentralized mindset in solving problems and
programming  systems. To this end, the abstractions of agents and actors (and systems of 
agents and actors)  are taken as a natural reference: the objective of the workshop is then to 
foster the research in all aspects of agent-oriented programming and actor-oriented
programming as evolution of mainstream paradigms (such as OOP), including the theory and
the practice of design and programming, bringing together researchers working on the models, 
languages and technologies, and practitioners developing real-world systems and applications.

Read more at: http://agere2011.apice.unibo.it

"Start the workshop Now!" - join the group: 


to contribute to ongoing discussions about the AGERE! topics and workshop organization


Gul Agha, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 
Rafael  H.   Bordini, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil 
Alessandro Ricci, University of Bologna, Italy

(in alphabetic order, to be completed)

Gul Agha, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 
Joe Armstrong,  SICS / Ericsson, Sweden 
Olivier Boissier, LSTI ENS Mines Saint-Etienne, France
Rafael Bordini, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil 
Jean-Pierre Briot, LIP6, Paris 6, France 
Rem Collier, UCL, Dublin 
Mehdi Dastani, Utrecht University, The Netherlands 
Jurgen Dix, Technical University of Clausthal, Germany 
Koen Hindriks, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Tom Holvoet, Dept. Computer Science K.U.Leuven, Belgium 
Jomi Hubner, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil 
Joao Leite, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
Jamali Nadeem, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada
Ravi Pandya, Microsoft 
Jens Palsberg, UCLA, Los Angeles, USA 
Alessandro Ricci, University of Bologna, Italy 
Birna van Riemsdijk, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Giovanni Rimassa, Whitestein Technologies
Amal El Fallah Seghrouchni,  LIP6 - University Pierre and Marie Curie 
Munindar Singh, North Carolina State University, USA 
Akinori Yonezawa, University of Tokyo, Japan 

More information about the Types-announce mailing list