[TYPES/announce] Ackermann Award 2013 - call for nominations

Anuj Dawar Anuj.Dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk
Mon Jan 7 10:45:00 EST 2013


Eligible for the 2013 Ackermann Award are PhD dissertations in topics 
specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were formally 
accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 
1.1.2011 and 31.12.2012. The deadline for submission is 15 April 2013. 
Submission details follow below.
Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2013 on and should be sent 
to the chair of the Jury, Anuj Dawar, by e-mail: anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk

The Award
The 2013 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the 
annual conference of the EACSL (CSL'13), 2-5 September 2013, in Torino 
(Italy). The award consists of

     * a diploma,
     * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
     * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
     * travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give more (or less) than one award per year.
The jury consists of:

     * Thierry Coquand (Chalmers University of Gothenburg);
     * Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL;
     * Thomas A. Henzinger (IST Austria);
     * Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington);
     * Damian Niwinski (University of Warsaw);
     * Luke Ong (University of Oxford), LICS representative;
     * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the 
vice-president of EACSL;
     * Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH, Aachen).

How to submit
The candidate or his/her supervisor has to submit

    1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
    2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis 
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
    3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters 
by other senior faculty or researchers in equivalent positions (in 
English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Anuj Dawar 
(anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk);
    4. a short CV of the candidate;
    5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as 
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and 
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period 
(scanned as pdf-file or faxed).

The submission should preferably be sent by e-mail as attachments to 
professor Anuj Dawar:
anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk
With the following subject line and text:

     * Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
     * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case, 
please indicate it in the text. Letters of support and documents can 
also be faxed to:
Prof. Anuj Dawar
Ackermann Award
+44 1223 334678

The Jury has the right to declare submissions to be out of scope or not 
to meet the requirements.

More information about the Types-announce mailing list