[TYPES/announce] Call for participation: APLAS and CPP 2013

Peter Schachte schachte at unimelb.edu.au
Tue Nov 5 00:20:27 EST 2013


APLAS: 11th Asian Symposium on Programming Languages and Systems
CPP: 3rd International Conference on Certified Programs and Proofs

9-13 December 2013 (APLAS 9-11 December; CPP 11-13 December)
Melbourne, Australia

Early-bird special registration rates end 11 November


APLAS aims to stimulate programming language research by providing a
forum for the presentation of latest results and the exchange of ideas
in programming languages and systems. APLAS is based in Asia, but is
an international forum that serves the worldwide programming language

APLAS is sponsored by the Asian Association for Foundation of Software
(AAFS) founded by Asian researchers in cooperation with many researchers
from Europe and the USA. Past APLAS symposiums were successfully held
in Kyoto ('12), Kenting ('11), Shanghai ('10), Seoul ('09), Bangalore
('08), Singapore ('07), Sydney ('06), Tsukuba ('05), Taipei ('04) and
Beijing ('03) after three informal workshops. Proceedings will be
published in Springer's LNCS series.

CPP is an international forum on theoretical and practical topics in
all areas, including computer science, mathematics, and education,
that consider certification as an essential paradigm for their
work. Certification here means formal, mechanized verification of some
sort, preferably with production of independently checkable

The first two CPP conferences were held in Kenting, Taiwan, and Kyoto,
Japan, in December 2011 and 2012, respectively. As with the first
meetings, the proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag’s
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Conference Location

APLAS and CPP will be held at the Rydges on Swanston hotel in Melbourne,
Australia, adjacent to the University of Melbourne.

Melbourne is widely considered to be Australia's financial and arts
capital, and was recently selected by The Economist Intelligence Unit as
the World's Most Livable City. Read more about Melbourne at:


The online registration site for both conferences is now open at:
Note:  early-bird special registration rates end 11 November

The conference hotel offers a reduced room rate for conference
attendees; rooms may be booked at:

A limited number of student rooms are available at the university at a
much reduced rate. Please email Mark Gordon <mgordon at trinity.unimelb.edu.au>
for rates and booking instructions.

APLAS Organizers

General chair:
     Peter Schachte (University of Melbourne)
Program chair:
     Chung-chieh Shan (Indiana University)
Program committee:
     Filippo Bonchi (CNRS, ENS-Lyon, France)
     Yu-Fang Chen (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
     Shigeru Chiba (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
     Jacques Garrigue (Nagoya University, Japan)
     Robert Glück (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
     R. Govindarajan (Indian Institute of Science, India)
     Kazuhiro Inaba (Google, Inc., Japan)
     Jie-Hong Roland Jiang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
     Shin-ya Katsumata (Kyoto University, Japan)
     Gabriele Keller (University of New South Wales, Australia)
     Ana Milanova (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
     Keisuke Nakano (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan)
     Hakjoo Oh (Seoul National University, Korea)
     Bruno C. d. S. Oliveira (National University of Singapore,
     Kaushik Rajan (Microsoft Research, India)
     Max Schäfer (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
     Ulrich Schöpp (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
     Paula Severi (University of Leicester, UK)
     Gang Tan (Lehigh University, USA)
     Hiroshi Unno (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
     Meng Wang (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
     Jingling Xue (University of New South Wales, Australia)
     Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology, Sydney, Australia)
     Kenny Q. Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Poster session chair:
     Shin-ya Katsumata

CPP Organizers

General chair:
     Peter Schachte (University of Melbourne)
Program Co-Chairs:
     Georges Gonthier (Microsoft Research Cambridge)
     Michael Norrish (NICTA)
Program Committee:
     Derek Dreyer (MPI-SWS)
     William Farmer (McMaster University)
     Jean-Christophe Filliâtre (INRIA)
     Cédric Fournet (Microsoft Research Cambridge)
     Benjamin Grégoire (INRIA)
     Reiner Hähnle (Technische Universität Darmstadt)
     Aquinas Hobor (National University of Singapore)
     Gyesik Lee (Hankyong National University)
     Cesar Muñoz (NASA Langley)
     Toby Murray (NICTA)
     Gopalan Nadathur (University of Minnesota)
     Claudio Sacerdoti Coen (University of Bologna)
     Peter Sewell (University of Cambridge)
     Bas Spitters (University of Nijmegen)
     Gang Tan (Lehigh University)
     Alwen Tiu (Australian National University)
     Yih-Kuen Tsay (National Taiwan University)
     Lihong Zhi (Academia Sinica)

Invited Speakers

Alexandra Silva (APLAS)
     Brzozowski's and up-to algorithms for must testing
Cristina Cifuentes (APLAS)
     Internal Deployment of the Parfait Static Code Analysis Tool at
Nick Benton (joint APLAS/CPP)
     The Proof Assistant as an Integrated Development Environment
Daniel R. Licata and Guillaume Brunerie (CPP)
     π_n(S^n) in Homotopy Type Theory
Carroll Morgan (CPP)
     The “Probabilistic Information-Order for Noninterference”
     Competition:  Do we have a winner?

Further Information

Further information about both conferences, including lists of
accepted papers and tentative conference schedules, are available from
the conference web sites:


More information about the Types-announce mailing list