[TYPES/announce] MFCS 2014

mfcs2014 at inf.u-szeged.hu mfcs2014 at inf.u-szeged.hu
Tue Nov 5 06:56:32 EST 2013

                          Call for Papers

                  39th International Symposium on
           Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science
                            MFCS 2014

                  Budapest, August 25--29, 2014

   The series of MFCS symposia, organized since 1972, has a long and
   well-established tradition. The MFCS conferences encourage high-quality
   research in all branches of theoretical computer science. Their broad
   scope provides an opportunity to bring together researchers who do not
   usually meet at specialized conferences. Quality papers presenting
   original research on theoretical aspects of computer science are

   Principal topics of interest include (but are not limited to):
   algorithms and data structures (incl. sequential, parallel,
   distributed, randomized, approximation, graph, network, on-line,
   parameterized, optimization algorithms),
   algorithmic game theory,
   algorithmic learning theory,
   computational complexity (structural and model-related),
   computational geometry,
   models of computation,
   networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc networks),
   parallel and distributed computing,
   quantum computing,
   automata, grammars and formal languages,
   combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures,
   computer-assisted reasoning,
   concurrency theory,
   cryptography and security,
   databases and knowledge-based systems,
   formal specifications and program development,
   foundations of computing,
   logic, algebra and categories in computer science,
   types in computer science,
   mobile computing,
   semantics and verification of programs,
   theoretical issues in artificial intelligence.

*Invited Speakers*
   Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria, Klosterneuburg, Austria),
   Achim Jung (U. of Birmingham, UK),
   D\'aniel Marx (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary),
   Peter Bro Miltersen (Aarhus U., Denmark),
   Cyril Nicaud (U. Paris-Est, Marne-la-Vall\'ee, France),
   Alexander Sherstov (UCLA, Los Angeles, USA),
   Christian Sohler (TU Dortmund, Germany).

*Program Committee*
   Albert Atserias (UPC, Barcelona, Spain),
   Giorgio Ausiello (U. ``La Sapienza'', Rome, Italy),
   Jos Baeten (CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands),
   Therese Biedl (U. of Waterloo, Canada),
   Miko\laj Boja\'nczyk (Warsaw U., Poland),
   Gerth St\olting Brodal (Aarhus U., Denmark),
   Christian Choffrut (U. Paris Diderot, France),
   Erzs\'ebet Csuhaj-Varj\'u (E\"otv\"os Lor\'and U., Budapest, Hungary,
   Rocco De Nicola (IMT Lucca, Italy),
   Martin Dietzfelbinger (TU Ilmenau, Germany, co-chair),
   Manfred Droste (U. of Leipzig, Germany),
   Robert Els\"asser (U. Salzburg, Austria),
   Zolt\'an \'Esik (U. of Szeged, Hungary, chair),
   Uli Fahrenberg (Irisa/INRIA Rennes, France),
   Fedor V. Fomin (U. of Bergen, Norway),
   Fabio Gadducci (U. of Pisa, Italy),
   Anna G\'al (U. of Texas, Austin, USA),
   Dora Giammarresi (U. ``Tor Vergata'', Rome, Italy),
   Roberto Grossi (U. of Pisa, Italy),
   Anupam Gupta (CMU, Pittsburgh, USA),
   Michel Habib (U. Paris Diderot, France),
   Kristoffer Arnsfelt Hansen (Aarhus U., Denmark),
   Edith Hemaspaandra (RIT, Rochester, USA),
   Kazuo Iwama (Kyoto U., Japan),
   Yoshihiko Kakutani (U. of Tokyo, Japan),
   Juhani Karhum\"aki (U. of Turku, Finland),
   Bakhadyr Khoussainov (U. of Auckland, New Zealand),
   Elias Koutsoupias (U. of Athens, Greece),
   Rastislav Kr\'alovi\v c (Comenius U., Bratislava, Slovakia),
   Jan Kratochvil (Charles U., Prague, Czech Republic),
   Stefan Kratsch (TU Berlin, Germany),
   Amit Kumar (IIT, New Delhi, India),
   Kim G. Larsen (Aalborg U., Denmark),
   Fr\'ed\'eric Magniez (U. Paris Diderot, Paris, France),
   Ralph Matthes (U. Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France),
   Madhavan Mukund (CMI, Chennai, India),
   Jean-\'Eric Pin (LIAFA, U. Paris Diderot, and CNRS, Paris, France),
   Alexander Rabinovich (Tel Aviv U., Israel),
   Peter Rossmanith (RWTH Aachen U., Germany),
   Jan Rutten (CWI, Amsterdam, and Radboud U. Nijmegen, The Netherlands),
   Wojciech Rytter (Warsaw U., Poland),
   Luigi Santocanale (Aix-Marseille U., France),
   Christian Scheideler (U. of Paderborn, Germany),
   Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund, Germany),
   Alex Simpson (U. of Edinburgh, UK),
   Mohit Singh (Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA),
   Klaus Sutner (CMU, Pittsburgh, USA),
   G\'abor Tardos (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary),
   Gy\"orgy Tur\'an (U. of Illinois, Chicago, USA),
   Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich, Switzerland),
   Philipp Woelfel (U. of Calgary, Canada).

*Important dates*
   Paper submission deadline: *April 18, 2014.*
   Author notification: *June 3, 2014.*
   Camera-ready deadline: *June 16, 2014.*
   Conference: *August 25--29, 2014.*

*Submission guidelines*
   Submissions to MFCS must not exceed 12 pages
   (in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes style and including bibliography).
   If the authors believe that more details are essential to substantiate
   the main claims, they may include a clearly marked appendix that will
   be read at the discretion of the program committee.
   Simultaneous submissions of papers to any other conference with
   published proceedings or simultaneous or previous submission of the
   same contribution to journals is not allowed. Only electronic submissions
   in PDF format are accepted.
   Information about the submission procedure will be available on the
   conference web page in due time. The proceedings will be published in the
   *ARCoSS subline of Lecture Notes in Computer Science by Springer-Verlag*.

   Zolt\'an \'Esik: ze at inf.u-szeged.hu or
   Erzs\'ebet Csuhaj-Varj\'u: csuhaj at inf.elte.hu or
   Martin Dietzfelbinger: martin.dietzfelbinger at tu-ilmenau.de

   The conference is organized by the Department of Algorithms and their
   Applications, Faculty of Informatics, E\"otv\"os Lor\'and University,
   and the Department of Foundations of Computer Science,
   Faculty of Science and Informatics, University of Szeged,
   in cooperation with EATCS.

More information about the Types-announce mailing list