[TYPES/announce] EAPLS PhD Award 2015: Nomination Deadline Approaching

Anya Helene Bagge anya at ii.uib.no
Thu Jan 21 10:37:57 EST 2016

EAPLS PhD Award 2015: Call for Nominations
URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems has 
established a Best Dissertation Award in the international research area of 
programming languages and systems. The award will go to the PhD student who 
in the previous period has made the most original and influential 
contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to 
excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to 
promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2015 – 31 December 2015


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor.
Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the thesis to 
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eaplsphd2015. The nomination must be 
accompanied by (a zip file containing)
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be 
considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the 
thesis at its defense.
The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence, 
relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.

Questions can be directed to the PhD Award Chair, at anya at ii.uib.no


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee 
of experts from across Europe. The procedure to be followed is analogous to 
the review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and 
the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The final 
decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation of the 
expert committee.

Members of the expert committee are barred from nominating their own PhD 
students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have received 
the EAPLS PhD award 2015. The supervisor will receive a copy of this 
certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at 
a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS conference.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The 
decision of the expert committee is final and binding, and will not be 
subject to discussion.

Important dates

31 January 2016: Deadline for nominations
1 July 2016:     Announcement of the award winner

Expert committee

The expert committee includes:
* Anya Helene Bagge, University of Bergen (chair)
* Eerke Boiten, University of Kent
* Marco Carbone, IT University of Copenhagen
* Stefano Crespi Reghizzi, DEIB - Politecnico di Milano
* Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory
* Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini, Università di Torino
* Josuka Díaz-Labrador, Universidad de Deusto
* Maribel Fernandez, KCL
* Sabine Glesner, TU Berlin
* Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria
* Ralf Lämmel, Universität Koblenz-Landau
* Axel Legay, IRISA/INRIA, Rennes
* Ricardo Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
* Baltasar Trancón Y Widemann, TU Ilmenau
* Phil Trinder, Glasgow University
* Marko Van Eekelen, Radboud University Nijmegen
* Peter Van Roy, Université catholique de Louvain

More information about the Types-announce mailing list