[TYPES/announce] QPL 2016: Final call for papers

Chris Heunen chris.heunen at ed.ac.uk
Mon Mar 7 04:43:58 EST 2016

                  FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS

           The 13th International Conference on
              Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL)

                    June 6-10, 2016
        University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland


The 13th International Conference on Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL)
will take place at the University of Strathclyde between Tuesday 7 and
Friday 10 June, 2016.

The conference brings together researchers working on mathematical
foundations of quantum physics, quantum computing, and related areas,
with a focus on structural perspectives and the use of logical tools,
ordered algebraic and category-theoretic structures, formal languages,
semantical methods, and other computer science techniques applied to
the study of physical behaviour in general.

Previous QPL events were held in Oxford (2015), Kyoto (2014),
Barcelona (2013), Brussels (2012), Nijmegen (2011), Oxford (2010),
Oxford (2009), Reykjavik (2008), Oxford (2006), Chicago (2005),
Turku (2004), and Ottawa (2003).


Elham Kashefi (University of Edinburgh)
Tom Leinster (University of Edinburgh)
Krysta Svore (Microsoft Research)
Stephanie Wehner (Technical University Delft)


On Monday June 6 and Tuesday June 7 there will be tutorial lectures:

Kohei Kishida (University of Oxford)
Aleks Kissinger (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Conor McBride (University of Strathclyde)
Daniel Oi (University of Strathclyde)
Ognyan Oreshkov (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)


On Saturday June 11 there will be a satellite workshop on "Semantic
spaces at the intersection of natural language processing, physics, and
cognitive science". Invited speakers are:

Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
Peter Gardenfors (University of Lund)

More details can be found at:



Submission: March 13, 2016
Notification: April 24
Papers ready: May 29
Tutorials: June 6
Conference: June 7-10


Prospective speakers are invited to submit a contribution to the conference.

 - Original contributions consist of a 5-12 page extended abstract which
   provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest and
   detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the work.
   Submission of substantial albeit partial results of work in progress is

 - Short contributions will also be considered, and consist of a 3 page
   description including a link to work that has already been published
   or submitted elsewhere, provided it is recent and relevant to the

Extended versions of accepted original research contributions will be
published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science
(EPTCS) after the conference.

Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted
in PDF format. Use of the EPTCS style is encouraged. Submission is done
via EasyChair: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qpl2016

There will be an award for the best paper whose authors are all students,
at the discretion of the programme committee.


If you are planning to come you must register. Registration is now open:


Thanks to our generous sponsors, limited funding is available to support
participation of graduate students and those with caregiving
If you would like to apply for financial support please send an email to
qpl2016 at gmail.com indicating your name and affiliation, and if you are a
student, the name of your supervisor. Priority will be given to those
presenting a paper or poster at QPL2016.


John Barrett (University of Nottingham)
Rick Blute (University of Ottawa)
Dan Browne (University College London)
Giulio Chiribella (University of Hong Kong)
Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
Ross Duncan (University of Strathclyde, co-chair)
Ichiro Hasuo (University of Tokyo)
Chris Heunen (University of Edinburgh, co-chair)
Matty Hoban (University of Oxford)
Bart Jacobs (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Viv Kendon (Durham University)
Kohei Kishida (University of Oxford)
Aleks Kissinger (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Joachim Kock (Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona)
Matt Leifer (Chapman University)
Paul-Andre Mellies (University Paris Diderot)
Michael Moortgat (Utrecht University)
Daniel Oi (University of Strathclyde)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
Dusko Pavlovic (University of Hawaii)
Simon Perdrix (CNRS Nancy)
Robert Raussendorf (University of British Columbia)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary University of London)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)
Pawel Sobocinski (University of Southampton)
Rob Spekkens (Perimeter Institute)
Bas Spitters (Aarhus University)
Isar Stubbe (Universite du Littoral-Cote-d'Opale)
Jamie Vicary (University of Oxford)
Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology Sydney)


Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)


Ross Duncan
Chris Heunen
Daniel Oi
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20160307/10b38f3f/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
An embedded and charset-unspecified text was scrubbed...
Name: not available
URL: <http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20160307/10b38f3f/attachment.ksh>

More information about the Types-announce mailing list