[TYPES/announce] SYNT 2016: Final CfP and deadline extension

Rayna Dimitrova rayna at mpi-sws.org
Mon Apr 25 08:29:44 EDT 2016


                      SYNT 2016 - Call For Papers

                       5th Workshop on Synthesis

                     Toronto, Canada, July 17, 2016



The workshop aims to bring together researchers interested
in the broad area of synthesis of computing systems. The
workshop aims to foster the development of frontier
techniques in automating the development of computing
systems and is inclusive in its interpretation of the term

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* algorithms and tools for software synthesis and reactive
(discrete-time, timed, hybrid, ...) synthesis,
* specification languages and optimization in synthesis,
* complexity and decidability results for synthesis,
* case studies of software or hardware synthesis,
* connections between verification and synthesis,
* connections between synthesis and inductive programming.


We welcome scientific contributions of the following forms:
* regular papers (max. 15 pages in EPTCS style, excluding references)
* tool papers (max. 7 pages in EPTCS style, excluding references)
* presentation-only papers (extended abstract of max. 2 pages in EPTCS 

Submitted regular and tool papers must be original and unpublished.
Accepted papers will appear in the Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical
Computer Science series; hence, submissions must be prepared in LaTeX 
using the
EPTCS macro package. Given sufficient interest, extended versions of 
papers will appear in a special issue of the journal Acta Informatica.

Presentation-only papers may describe already published work, or be under
concurrent submission. They will not be part of the workshop's proceedings.


Important dates:

Paper submission: May 6, 2016
Author notification:  May 30, 2016
Workshop: July 17, 2016


Student Travel Award

Thanks to the sponsorship of ExCAPE, this year we introduce an award for 
best student paper (a paper, at least one of the authors of which is a 
The grant will cover the travel and attendance costs of the student who is
presenting the paper.


Program Committee:

* Roderick Bloem (Graz University of Technology)
* Patricia Bouyer-Decitre (LSV, CNRS & ENS de Cachan)
* Swarat Chaudhuri (Rice University)
* Rayna Dimitrova (MPI-SWS)
* Rüdiger Ehlers (University of Bremen)
* Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University)
* Dana Fisman (University of Pennsylvania)
* Swen Jacobs (Saarland University)
* Stéphane Lafortune (University of Michigan)
* Stephen H. Muggleton (Imperal College, London)
* Ruzica Piskac (Yale University)
* Nir Piterman (University of Leicester)
* Nadia Polikarpova (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
* Arjun Radhakrishna (University of Pennsylvania)
* Veselin Raychev (ETH Zurich)
* Roopsha Samanta (IST Austria)
* Ocan Sankur (Irisa Rennes)
* Sanjit A. Seshia (UC Berkeley)
* Rishabh Singh (Microsoft Research)
* Ashish Tiwari (SRI International)
* Ufuk Topcu (University of Texas at Austin)
* Emina Torlak (University of Washington)
* Damien Zufferey (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Organization Committee:

* Rayna Dimitrova (MPI-SWS)
* Ruzica Piskac (Yale University)


SYNT 2016 is a satellite event of CAV 2016 and will take place on
July 17 in Toronto, Canada.

SYNT 2016 program will include:

Report on Syntax-Guided Synthesis (SyGuS 2016) Competition,
       presented by Dana Fisman, University of Pennsylvania
Report on Reactive Synthesis (SYNTCOMP 2016) Competition,
       presented by Swen Jacobs, Saarland University

Invited speakers will be announced soon.


The SYNT 2016 workshop is kindly supported by the NSF Expedition in
Computer Augmented Program Engineering (ExCAPE) project.

More information about the Types-announce mailing list