[TYPES/announce] EAPLS Best Dissertation Award - Call for nominations (PhD Dissertations in 2021)

Fernandez, Maria Isabel maribel.fernandez at kcl.ac.uk
Tue Aug 2 06:02:17 EDT 2022

EAPLS Best Dissertation Award 2021: Call for Nominations

URL: https://urldefense.com/v3/__http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/__;!!IBzWLUs!SSi8E7StbuXvsOJcXwST6AVJ60QQBjomxBUnHUlVoY9SrBDkZiWKqZNlg00E9hhgs0pI4sjJJxRDdzImM0bPC4zImzEtjl1KbXBEqSswxERx$ <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http*3A*2F*2Feapls.org*2Fpages*2Fphd_award*2F&data=05*7C01*7Cmaribel.fernandez*40kcl.ac.uk*7Ce58ef95e966e40d4531408da7405bba2*7C8370cf1416f34c16b83c724071654356*7C0*7C0*7C637949865213307386*7CUnknown*7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0*3D*7C3000*7C*7C*7C&sdata=bxhg9tRGM3oBXbtVAGfBth7o9kfNR3Pb4dp3QvdPJ9U*3D&reserved=0__;JSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJQ!!IBzWLUs!SSi8E7StbuXvsOJcXwST6AVJ60QQBjomxBUnHUlVoY9SrBDkZiWKqZNlg00E9hhgs0pI4sjJJxRDdzImM0bPC4zImzEtjl1KbXBEqbCf8mlQ$ >

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS) has established a Best Dissertation Award in the research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the PhD student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2021 – 31 December 2021


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination via https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=eapls21__;!!IBzWLUs!SSi8E7StbuXvsOJcXwST6AVJ60QQBjomxBUnHUlVoY9SrBDkZiWKqZNlg00E9hhgs0pI4sjJJxRDdzImM0bPC4zImzEtjl1KbXBEqTmt4UQO$ <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https*3A*2F*2Feasychair.org*2Fmy*2Fconference*3Fconf*3Deapls21&data=05*7C01*7Cmaribel.fernandez*40kcl.ac.uk*7Ce58ef95e966e40d4531408da7405bba2*7C8370cf1416f34c16b83c724071654356*7C0*7C0*7C637949865213307386*7CUnknown*7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0*3D*7C3000*7C*7C*7C&sdata=5JqhPSmKIHiHrTWNBRjBJIQgqtQkSB1bJ6nkI3yfYpE*3D&reserved=0__;JSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSU!!IBzWLUs!SSi8E7StbuXvsOJcXwST6AVJ60QQBjomxBUnHUlVoY9SrBDkZiWKqZNlg00E9hhgs0pI4sjJJxRDdzImM0bPC4zImzEtjl1KbXBEqb8IS4Wf$ >. The nomination must consist of a single PDF file containing
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the thesis at its defense; and
* the thesis itself.

The nominated theses will be evaluated with respect to originality and significance to the field, and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing. Where the thesis consists of a collection of papers, in assessing the quality of writing careful consideration will be given to the introduction and overall conclusion chapters of the thesis, as well as the quality of the individual papers and their consistent use of notation, concepts, etc.

Questions can be directed to the PhD award chairs:
Maribel Fernandez and Andreas Wortmann, at eapls21 at easychair.org<mailto:eapls21 at easychair.org>.


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation of the expert committee.

Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from nominating their own PhD students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner of the EAPLS PhD award 2021 and the supervisor will receive a copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, for instance the ETAPS conference. In addition, the winner will be invited to submit a short video summarising the thesis work, which will be made available via the EAPLS website.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates

30 August 2022:       Deadline for nominations
1 December 2022:    Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee

The expert committee includes:

  *   Eerke Boiten (De Montfort University, UK)
  *   Stefano Crespi Reghizzi (Politecnico di Milano, IT)
  *   Kei Davis (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  *   Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini (Dipartimento di InformaticaUniversità di Torino, IT)
  *   Santiago Escobar (Universitat Politècnica de València, ES)
  *   Maurizio Gabbrielli (University of Bologna, IT)
  *   Sabine Glesner (TU Berlin, DE)
  *   Stefan Gruner (University of Pretoria, SA)
  *   Christoph Kirsch (University of Salzburg, AT)
  *   Jens Knoop (TU Vienna, AT)
  *   Greg Michaelson (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
  *   François Pottier (INRIA, FR)
  *   Matteo Pradella (Politecnico di Milano, IT)
  *   Ana Sokolova (University of Salzburg, AT)

Professor Maribel Fernandez
Department of Informatics
King’s College London, UK

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://LISTS.SEAS.UPENN.EDU/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20220802/7852c2ce/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the Types-announce mailing list