[TYPES/announce] 2023 Alonzo Church Award: Call for Nominations

Mariangiola Dezani dezani at di.unito.it
Wed Nov 23 12:35:16 EST 2022


The 2023 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding
Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the
ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt
Goedel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding contribution
represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published within
the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and depth
of the contribution to have been established.  The award can be given
to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated
on the research. For the rules governing this award, see
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://siglog.org/alonzo-church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_LxrfgJ5SiUc$  <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://siglog.org/alonzo-church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_LxrfgJ5SiUc$ >,
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_Lxrfq7ZI5XZ$  <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_Lxrfq7ZI5XZ$ >, and 
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.eacsl.org/alonzo-church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_LxrftrbDAtx$  <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.eacsl.org/alonzo-church-award/__;!!IBzWLUs!XIn0q951p5ge58_HPcQZouQplEzM7AbHvYN-JjSt-Es3Vhzy83FKzCA1XlP4kHlTPk3WqZMIcguam0CyBVvq_LxrftrbDAtx$ > .

The 2022 Alonzo Church Award was given to Dexter Kozen for his ground-
breaking work on the theory and applications of Kleene Algebra with Tests. 
Lists containing this and all previous winners can be found through the links 


The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within
the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2023 award, the cut-off date is January 1,
1998. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the
date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In
addition, the contribution must not yet have received recognition via a
major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the Goedel
Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards for other
contributions.) While the contribution can consist of conference or journal
papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2023 award are now being solicited. The nominating
letter must summarise the contribution and make the case that it is
fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple
co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a
proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description
of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to
justify the nomination. Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting
letters and other evidence of worthiness. Nominations for the 2023 award 
are automatically considered for all future editions of the award, until 
they receive the award or the nominated papers are no longer eligible.

Nominations should be submitted to dezani at di.unito.it <mailto:dezani at di.unito.it> and to 
mariangiola.dezani at gmail.com <mailto:mariangiola.dezani at gmail.com> by February 1, 2023.


The 2023 award will be presented at the 50th EATCS International Colloquium 
on Automata, Languages and Programming, which is scheduled to take place in 
Paderborn - Germany on July 10-14, 2023. The award will be accompanied by 
an invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of the award winners. 
The awardee(s) will receive a  certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. 
If there are multiple awardees, this amount will be shared.


The 2023 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five members: 
Thomas Colcombet, Mariangiola Dezani (chair), Marcelo Fiore, Radha Jagadeesan, and 
Igor Walukiewicz.


Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini
Dipartimento di Informatica
Universita' di Torino
c.Svizzera 185, 10149 Torino (Italy)

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://LISTS.SEAS.UPENN.EDU/pipermail/types-announce/attachments/20221123/89e54a68/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the Types-announce mailing list