[TYPES/announce] TACL 2011, 2nd call for papers

Luigi Santocanale luigi.santocanale at lif.univ-mrs.fr
Fri Feb 18 11:20:47 EST 2011

                    [Apologies for multiple copies]

                           II call for papers

                           July 26-30, 2011
                Universités Aix-Marseille I-II-III, France


Studying logics via semantics is a well-established and very active
branch of mathematical logic, with many applications, in computer
science and elsewhere. The area is characterized by results, tools
and techniques stemming from various fields, including universal
algebra, topology, category theory, order, and model theory. The
program of the conference TACL 2011 will focus on three
interconnecting mathematical themes central to the semantical study
of logics and their applications: algebraic, categorical, and
topological methods. This is the fifth conference in the series
Topology, Algebra and Categories in Logic (TACL, formerly TANCL).
Earlier installments of this conference have been organized in
Tbilisi (2003), Barcelona (2005), Oxford (2007), Amsterdam (2009).

Featured topics

Contributed talks can deal with any topic dealing with the use of
algebraic, categorical or topological methods in either logic or
computer science. This includes, but is not limited to, the following

* Algebraic structures in CS
* Algebraic logic
* Coalgebra
* Categorical methods in logic
* Domain theory
* Fuzzy and many-valued logics
* Lattice theory
* Lattices with operators
* Modal logics
* Non-classical logics
* Ordered topological spaces
* Ordered algebraic structures
* Pointfree topology
* Proofs and Types
* Residuated structures
* Semantics
* Stone-type dualities
* Substructural logics
* Topological semantics of modal logic

Invited speakers

* Steve Awodey, Carnegie Mellon University
* Lev Beklemishev, Steklov Mathematical Institute Moscow
* David Gabelaia, Tbilisi Razmadze Mathematical Institute
* Nikolaos Galatos, University of Denver
* Pierre Gillibert, Charles University Prague
* Jean Goubault-Larrecq, ENS Cachan, CNRS, INRIA
* Rosalie Iemhoff, Utrecht University
* Mamuka Jibladze, Tbilisi Razmadze Mathematical Institute
* Vincenzo Marra, Università degli Studi di Milano
* Thomas Streicher, Technical University Darmstadt

Esakia session

The Fifth International Conference on Topology, Algebra and Categories
in Logic is dedicated to the memory of Leo Esakia (1934-2010).

In Leo's honour there will be a special session during the conference; 
three of the invited speakers will be giving their talk in this session: 
Lev Beklemishev, David Gabelaia, and Mamuka Jibladze. In addition, a 
memorial talk on the life and work of Leo Esakia will delivered by the 
chair of this session, Guram Bezhanishvili.

The program committee specially encourages submissions related to the 
work of Leo Esakia, and may select some of these submission for 
presentation at the special session.


Contributed presentations will be of two types:

* standard presentations of 20 minutes in parallel sessions,
* featured, 30 minutes long, plenary presentations.

The submission of an extended abstract in pdf format will be required to be
selected for a contributed presentation of either kind.

Concerning the standard presentations, while preference will be given to
new work, results that have already been published or presented 
elsewhere will also be considered.
Concerning the featured presentations: the program committee will choose
a small number of submissions of which the authors will be invited to
give a plenary presentation. The criteria for this selection will be:
originality, significance and interest to the wider TACL community.

There will be just one submission procedure, for contributed 
presentations of either kind: authors are requested to submit a short 
text of four pages, in English and in pdf format, through the easychair 
submission site:

Important dates

April 18, 2011: Abstract submission deadline
May 20, 2011:   Notification to authors
July 26-30, 2011:  Conference

Program Committee

Guram Bezhanishvili, New Mexico State University
Petr Cintula, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
Thierry Coquand, University of Gothenburg
Mai Gehrke, Radboud University, Nijmegen
Silvio Ghilardi, Università degli Studi di Milano
Rob Goldblatt, Victoria University, Wellington
Martin Hyland, King's College, Cambridge
Ramon Jansana, Universitat de Barcelona
Achim Jung (PC co-chair), University of Birmingham
Alexander Kurz, University of Leicester
Yves Lafont, Université Aix-Marseille II
Tadeusz Litak, University of Leicester
Paul-André Melliès, CNRS Paris Diderot
George Metcalfe, Universität Bern
Nicola Olivetti, Université Aix-Marseille III
Hiroakira Ono, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Luigi Santocanale, Université Aix-Marseille I
Kazushige Terui, Kyoto University
Costantine Tsinakis, Vanderbilt University
Yde Venema (PC co-chair), University of Amsterdam
Friedrich Wehrung, Université de Caen
Michael Zakharyaschev, University of London

More Information

If you have any queries please send them to the conference email address:
       tacl2011 at lif.univ-mrs.fr


More information about the Types-announce mailing list