[TYPES/announce] SPLASH 2011: Call for Contributions

Jonathan Aldrich jonathan.aldrich at cs.cmu.edu
Sat Mar 5 21:22:39 EST 2011

SPLASH and its constituent conference (and predecessor) OOPSLA typically 
include a fair number of type system papers.  OOPSLA and SPLASH are no 
longer focused explicitly on objects, so a broad variety of type systems 
work would be welcomed - Jonathan Aldrich

ACM Conference on Systems, Programming, Languages, and Applications:
                Software for Humanity (SPLASH'11)
                       Portland, Oregon
                      October 22-27, 2011
                   Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN

Since 2010 SPLASH has been the umbrella conference for OOPSLA and
Onward!. This year SPLASH features a third technical track, Wavefront,
designed to publish innovative work closely related to advanced
development and production software.

The overall theme of the conference is "The Internet as the world-wide
Virtual Machine."  This theme captures the change in the order of
magnitude of computing that happened over the past few years.

*                 CALL FOR CONTRIBUTIONS                     *

SPLASH is now accepting submissions for a variety of tracks. We
invite high quality submissions describing original and unpublished

General technical tracks:

* OOPSLA -- High quality research work that uses established
  scientific methodologies, written using high standards of academic
  technical publications.
  DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/100

* Onward! -- Innovative ideas that challenge existing beliefs, or
  early work well written and well argued for; essays and ideas worth
  hearing about.
  DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
  See http://onward-conference.org/2011/dates.html

* Wavefront -- Work that has the potential for immediate impact in the
  practice of software, or descriptions of advanced development and
  production software, written using established guidelines for
  technical writing. Accepts full papers as well as extended abstracts.
  DEADLINE: April 8, 2011

Specialized tracks:

* Demonstrations -- Applications and systems that show specific
  technologies in action, live.
  DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/105

* Doctoral Symposium -- Doctoral proposals, both early- and mid-phase,
   to be reviewed and commented on by a panel of experts.
  DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/103

* Educators' and Trainers' Symposium -- Topics of interest for
  developing curricula related to software training and education.
  DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/106

* Experience Reports -- Work describing the use of specific software
  technologies and methodologies in real world settings.
  DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/102

* Posters -- Forum for authors to present their work in an informal
  and interactive setting.
  DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
  See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/108


SPLASH is now accepting proposals for innovative, well-focused
workshops on a broad spectrum of topics.
DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/104

Co-located events:

* Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS'11)

* Generative Programming and Component Engineering (GPCE'11)

* Pattern Languages of Programming (PLoP'11)

* The Scheme Workshop 2011


SPLASH General Chair:      Cristina V. Lopes (UC Irvine)
OOPSLA Program Chair:      Kathleen Fisher (AT&T Labs)
Onward! General Chair:     Robert Hirschfeld (Hasso-Plattner Potsdam)
Onward! Program Chair:     Eelco Visser (Delft University of Tech.)
Onward! Essays Chair:      David West (New Mexico Highlands University)
Wavefront Chair:           Allen Wirfs-Brock (Mozilla)
Demonstrations Chair:      Igor Peshansky (IBM Research)
Doctoral Symposium Chair:  Jonathan Aldrich (CMU)
Educators Symposium Chair: Eugene Wallingford (U. of Northern Iowa)
Experience Reports Chair:  Tim O'Connor (K12 Inc.)
Panels Chair:              Daniel Weinreb (ITA Software)
Posters Chairs:            Sushil Bajracharya (Black Duck Software)
                            Eli Tilevich (Virginia Tech)
Student Volunteers Chairs: Rochelle Elva (U. of Central Florida)
                            Joel Ossher (UC Irvine)
Tech Talks:                Aino Corry (University of Aarhus)
Workshops Chairs:          Ademar Aguiar (FEUP)
                            Ulrik Pagh Schultz (U. of Southern Denmark)
Social Media:              Michael Maximilien (IBM)
Treasurer:                 William Cook (UT Austin)
Proceedings Chair:         Richard Gabriel (IBM Research)
PDX.local:                 Andrew Black (Portland State U.)
Content Management:        Harry Baragar (Instantiated Software)
Conference Management:     Debra Brodbeck (UC Irvine)

More information about the Types-announce mailing list