[TYPES/announce] Turing Fellowships and Scholarships

S B Cooper pmt6sbc at maths.leeds.ac.uk
Mon Nov 21 14:27:37 EST 2011

The Turing Fellowships and Scholarships Competition:


The Turing Centenary Conference in Manchester will see the beginning of
the 3-year Turing Centenary Research Project - "Mind, Mechanism and
Mathematics", also funded by the John Templeton Foundation.

As part of the Alan Turing Year, proposals are invited for:

*** Five Turing Research Fellowships for researchers no more than 10 years
from the award of a PhD relevant to their proposed research, value 75,000
UK pounds each, and

*** Three Turing Scholarships for gifted younger researchers of age up to
25 years old, value 45,000 UK pounds each 

over the three years. Each Award may be held at a location of the 
winner's choice, and may be held as a valuable supplement to other 

For further details of eligibility etc, please see the How to Apply
webpage at the Alan Turing Year website:


The Research Project will address a number of major questions related to
the Turing legacy, and are listed at the Turing Centenary Research Project


under four main headings:

1. The Mathematics of Emergence: The Mysteries of Morphogenesis

2. Possibility of Building a Brain: Intelligent Machines, Practice and

3. Nature of Information: Complexity, Randomness, Hiddenness of

4. How should we compute? New Models of Logic and Computation.

Important Dates:

Submission deadline	December 16, 2011
Award Notification	March 31, 2012
Award Ceremony	Turing Centenary day, June 23, 2012
Commencement of the research project	July 1, 2012
Completion of the research project	June 30, 2015

Winners will be expected to attend the award ceremony at the Turing
Centenary Conference in Manchester, 22 - 25 June, 2012.

The members of the Competition Judging Panel are:

Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
Manindra Agrawal (Kanpur)
Eric Allender (Rutgers)
Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Research, Cambridge)
Rodney Downey (Wellington)
Luciano Floridi (Oxford/Hertfordshire)
Barbara Grosz (Harvard)
Stuart Kauffman (Vermont/Santa Fe)
Cris Moore (New Mexico/Santa Fe)
Gordon Plotkin (Edinburgh)
Aaron Sloman (Birmingham)
Robert I. Soare (Chicago)

The Judging Panel is Chaired by S. Barry Cooper (Leeds)

More information about the Types-announce mailing list