[TYPES/announce] Last CFP: SBMF 2012

Christiano Braga cbraga at ic.uff.br
Thu Apr 26 09:18:57 EDT 2012

[Apologies for multiple copies of this call.]

===SBMF 2012=== 

Natal, Brazil 
September 23-28, 2012 

Abstract Submission: May 08, 2012 (American Samoa Time Zone)
Paper Submission: May 14, 2012 (American Samoa Time Zone)


SBMF 2012 is the fifteenth of a series of events devoted to the development, dissemination and use of 
formal methods for the construction of high-quality computational systems. It is now a well-established 
event, with an international reputation. 

Keynote speakers will be 

* John Rushby, SRI International, Menlo Park CA, USA
* Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft Research, Redmond WA, USA

The symposium will be part of a larger event, CBSoft, the Brazilian Conference on Software: Theory and 
Practice (http://cbsoft.dimap.ufrn.br/) including as well as SBMF three other symposia: 

*XXVI Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES); 
*XVI Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP); 
*VI Brazilian Symposium on Components, Software Architecture and Software Reuse (SBCARS). 

CBSoft will be held in Natal, an important city in research and development in both academic and 
industrial areas. It is also known as "City of the Dunes", with a Park of Dunes measuring 8 kilometers of 
extension and 1,8 kilometer of width. Its sea is of calm, blue and crystal clear waters. The south coast 
comprises 15 beaches with dunes, cliffs, coconut trees, hills, reefs and some natural swimming pools. 

The aim of SBMF is to provide a venue for the presentation and discussion of high-quality papers, from 
researchers with a broad range of interests in formal methods, on recent developments in this field. The 
topics include, but are not limited to, the following: 

-Well-founded specification and design languages; 
-Formal aspects of popular languages and methodologies; 
-Logics and semantics of programming- and specification languages; 
-Reusable domain theories; 
-Type systems and category theory in computer science; 
-Computational complexity of methods and models; 
-Computational models; 
-Rewriting systems; 
-Formal methods integration; 
-Formal methods for software/hardware development; 
-Formal methods applied to model-driven engineering; 
-Code generation; 
-Formal design methods; 
-Specification and modeling; 
-Abstraction, modularization and refinement techniques; 
-Program and test synthesis; 
-Techniques for correctness by construction; 
-Formal methods and models for objects, aspects and component systems; 
-Formal methods and models for real-time, hybrid and critical systems; 
-Formal methods and models for service-oriented systems; 
-Models of concurrency, security and mobility; 
-Model checking; 
-Theorem proving; 
-Static analysis; 
-Formal techniques for software testing; 
-Software certification; 
-Formal techniques for software inspection; 
-Teaching of, for and with formal methods; 
-Experience reports on the use of formal methods; 
-Industrial case studies; 
-Tools supporting the formal development of computational systems; 
-Development methodologies with formal foundations; 
-Software evolution based on formal methods. 

Papers with a strong emphasis on Formal Methods, whether practical or theoretical, are invited for 
submission. They should present unpublished and original work that has a clear contribution to the state 
of the art on the theory and practice of formal methods. They should not be simultaneously submitted 

Papers will be judged on the basis of originality, relevance, technical soundness and presentation quality. 
They should be written in English. There are two types of submissions: 

* Full papers: (max. 16 pages in LNCS format) should contain theory- or application-oriented results 
which must be original, significant, and sound; they will undergo a full reviewing process. Papers from 
industry should emphasize practical application of formal methods and/or report open challenges. The 
proceedings will be published in LNCS/Springer.

* Short papers: (max. 6 pages in LNCS format) should describe recent research activities,
practical experience, and preliminary results that are worth discussing. If accepted, they will be published 
as a Technical Report of UFCG with an ISBN number available online.

Every accepted paper MUST have at least one author registered to the symposium by the time the camera-
ready copy is submitted; the author is also expected to attend the symposium and present the paper. 
Papers originally submitted in English MUST be presented in English.

Papers can be submitted via the following link: 


08/05/2012: Abstract Submission Deadline (American Samoa Time Zone)
14/05/2012: Full Paper Submission Deadline (American Samoa Time Zone)
02/07/2012: Full Paper Acceptance Notification
10/07/2012: Full Paper Camera-ready Version

09/07/2012: Short Paper Submission Deadline
30/07/2012: Short Paper Acceptance Notification
13/08/2012: Short Paper Camera-ready Version 

--- Program Committee Chairs 
David Naumann, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA 
Rohit Gheyi, UFCG, Brazil 

--- Steering Committee 
Jim Davies, University of Oxford, UK 
Rohit Gheyi, UFCG, Brazil (Co-chair)
Juliano Iyoda, UFPE, Brazil
Carroll Morgan, UNSW, Australia 
David Naumann, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA (Co-chair)
Marcel Oliveira, UFRN, Brazil 
Leila Silva UFS, Brazil 
Adenilso Simao, ICMC-USP, Brazil 
Jim Woodcock, University of York, UK 

--- Program Committee 
Aline Andrade (UFBA, Brazil)
Luis Barbosa (Universidade do Minho, Portugal) 
Roberto Bigonha (UFMG, Brazil)
Christiano Braga (UFF, Brazil)
Michael Butler (University of Southampton, UK) 
Andrew Butterfield (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland) 
Ana Cavalcanti (University of York, UK) 
Marcio Cornelio (UFPE, Brazil) 
Andrea Corradini (Universita' di Pisa, Italy) 
Jim Davies (University of Oxford, UK)
David Deharbe (UFRN, Brazil) 
Ewen Denney (RIACS/NASA, USA) 
Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool, UK) 
Jorge Figueiredo (UFCG, Brazil) 
Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil) 
John Harrison (Intel Corporation, USA)
Rolf Hennicker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Germany) 
Juliano Iyoda (UFPE, Brazil) 
Zhiming Liu (UNU-IIST, China)
Gerald Luettgen (University of Bamberg, Germany) 
Patricia Machado (UFCG, Brazil) 
Tiago Massoni (UFCG, Brazil)
Ana Melo (USP, Brazil) 
Stephan Merz (INRIA Lorraine, France) 
Alvaro Moreira (UFRGS, Brazil) 
Anamaria Moreira (UFRN, Brazil) 
Carroll Morgan (University of New South Wales, Australia)
Arnaldo Moura (UNICAMP, Brazil) 
Alexandre Mota (UFPE, Brazil) 
David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA) 
Daltro Nunes (UFRGS, Brazil) 
Jose Oliveira (Universidade do Minho, Portugal) 
Marcel Oliveira (UFRN, Brazil) 
Alberto Pardo (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay) 
Alexandre Petrenko (CRIM, Canada) 
Leila Ribeiro (UFRGS, Brazil) 
Augusto Sampaio (UFPE, Brazil) 
Leila Silva (UFS, Brazil) 
Adenilso Simao (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn, Germany)

More information about the Types-announce mailing list