[TYPES/announce] E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2013 call for nominations

Salvati Sylvain sylvain.salvati at labri.fr
Wed Apr 10 09:30:23 EDT 2013

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2013 call for nominations

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and
Information, http://institucional.us.es/folliweb/) awards the
E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations in the
fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite submissions for
the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree in the year
2012. The dissertations will be judged on technical depth and
strength, originality, and impact made in at least two of three fields
of Logic, Language, and Computation. Interdisciplinarity is an
important feature of the theses competing for the E.W. Beth
Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree
in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st,
2012 and December 31st, 2012. There is no restriction on the
nationality of the candidate or the university where the Ph.D. was
granted. After a careful consideration, FoLLI has decided to accept
only dissertations written in English. Dissertations produced in 2012
but not written in English or not translated will be allowed for
submission, after translation, also with the call next year (for
dissertations defended in 2013). The present call for nominations for
the E.W. Beth Disertation Award 2013 will also accept nominations of
full English translations of theses originally written in another
language than English and defended in 2011 or 2012.


The prize consists of:

-a certificate

-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation

-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to
  the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information
  (Springer). For further information on this series see the FoLLI

How to submit.

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are 

1. The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted);

2. A ten page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format;

3. A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations
are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis
supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the
scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree
was officially awarded;

4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter
from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that
awarded the Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip
file) to buszko at amu.edu.pl. Hard copy submissions are not admitted. In
case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of
notification within three working days, nominators should write to
buszko at amu.edu.pl.

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: May 12, 2013.
Notification of Decision: July 14, 2013.

Committee :

Chris Barker (New York)

Wojciech Buszkowski (chair) (Poznan)

Michael Kaminski (Haifa)

Dale Miller (Palaiseau)

Larry Moss (Bloomington)

Ian Pratt-Hartmann (Manchester)

Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)

Giovanni Sambin (Padua)

Rob van der Sandt (Nijmegen)

Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)

Heinrich Wansing (Bochum)

More information about the Types-announce mailing list