[TYPES/announce] Deadline extension: 2nd International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems (FTSCS'13)

Peter Csaba Ölveczky peterol at ifi.uio.no
Wed Aug 28 12:57:44 EDT 2013

                        Call for Papers

                           FTSCS 2013

2nd International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

           Queenstown, New Zealand, October 29, 2013
               (satellite workshop of ICFEM 2013)



 *** Submission deadline extended to September 6 ***
 *** Science of Computer Programming special issue ***
 *** Springer CCIS proceedings ***

Aims and Scope:

There is an increasing demand in industry to use formal methods to
achieve software-independent verification and validation of
safety-critical systems, e.g., in fields such as avionics, automotive,
medical, and other cyber-physical systems. Newer standards, such as
DO-178C (avionics) and ISO 26262 (automotive), emphasize the need for
formal methods and model-based development, speeding up the
adaptation of such methods in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers
and engineers who are interested in the application of formal and semi-formal
methods to improve the quality of safety-critical computer systems. In
particular, FTSCS strives strives to promote research and development of
formal methods and tools for industrial applications, and is particularly
interested in industrial applications of formal methods.

Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

* case studies and experience reports on the use of formal methods for
analyzing safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive,
medical, and other kinds of safety-critical and QoS-critical systems
* methods, techniques and tools to support automated analysis,
certification, debugging, etc., of complex safety/QoS-critical systems
* analysis methods that address the limitations of formal methods in
industry (usability, scalability, etc.)
* formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry,
such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica, etc.
* code generation from validated models.

The workshop will provide a platform for discussions and the exchange of
innovative ideas, so submissions on work in progress are encouraged.

Invited speaker:



We solicit submissions reporting on:

A- original research contributions (15 pages max, LNCS format);
B- applications and experiences (15 pages max, LNCS format);
C- surveys, comparisons, and state-of-the-art reports (15 pages max, LNCS format);
D- tool papers (5 pages max, LNCS format);
E- position papers and work in progress (5 pages max, LNCS format)

related to the topics mentioned above.

All submissions must be original, unpublished, and not submitted concurrently
for publication elsewhere. Paper submission will be done electronically
via EasyChair at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ftscs2013.
The final version of the paper must be prepared in LaTeX, adhering to
the LNCS format available at http://www.springer.com/computer/lncs?SGWID=0-164-6-793341-0.


All accepted papers will appear in the pre-proceedings of FTSCS 2013.
Accepted papers in the categories A-D above will appear in
the workshop proceedings that will be published as a volume in
Springer's CCIS series. 

The authors of a selected subset of accepted papers will be invited to submit
extended versions of their papers to appear in a special issue of the
Science of Computer Programming journal.

Important dates:

(Extended and final) submission deadline: September 6, 2013
Notification of acceptance: September 28, 2013
Workshop: October 29, 2013


Queenstown, New Zealand

Program chairs:

Cyrille Artho          AIST, Japan
Peter Olveczky         University of Oslo, Norway

Program committee:

Erika Abraham	      RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Musab AlTurki	      King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Toshiaki Aoki         JAIST, Japan
Farhad Arbab	      Leiden University and CWI, The Netherlands
Cyrille Artho         AIST, Japan
Saddek Bensalem	      Verimag, France
Armin Biere           Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Santiago Escobar      Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Ansgar Fehnker	      University of the South Pacific, Fiji
Mamoun Filali	      IRIT, France
Bernd Fischer	      Stellenbosch University, South Africa and University of Southampton, UK
Kokichi Futatsugi     JAIST, Japan
Klaus Havelund	      NASA JPL, USA
Marieke Huisman       University of Twente, The Netherlands
Ralf Huuck            NICTA/UNSW, Sydney, Australia
Fuyuki Ishikawa	      National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan
Takashi Kitamura      AIST, Japan
Alexander Knapp	      Augsburg University, Germany
Paddy Krishnan	      Oracle Labs Brisbane, Australia
Yang Liu              Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Robi Malik            University of Waikato, New Zealand
Cesar Munoz	      NASA Langley, USA
Tang Nguyen	      UST Hanoi, Vietnam
Thomas Noll           RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Peter Olveczky        University of Oslo, Norway
Paul Pettersson	      Malardalen University, Sweden
Camilo Rocha	      Escuela Colombiana de Ingenieria, Colombia
Grigore Rosu          University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Neha Rungta           NASA Ames, USA
Ralf Sasse            ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Oleg Sokolsky         University of Pennsylvania, USA
Sofiene Tahar         Concordia University, Canada
Carolyn Talcott       SRI International, USA
Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya    Osaka University, Japan
Michael Whalen        University of Minnesota, USA
Peng Wu               Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


(web)    http://www.ftscs.org
(email)  peterol at ifi.uio.no  and  c.artho at aist.go.jp

More information about the Types-announce mailing list