[TYPES/announce] 2nd Call For Papers: VAMOS 2014, Nice

Andrzej Wąsowski wasowski at itu.dk
Tue Oct 15 17:08:46 EDT 2013

8th International Workshop on Variability
Modelling of Software-intensive Systems (VAMOS)
22-24 January, Sophia Antipolis, Nice, France

Important Dates
- Abstract Submission: 27 October 2013 23.59 UTC-11
- Paper Submission: 3 November 2013 23.59 UTC-11
- Author Notification: 7 December 2013
- Camera-ready version: 18 December 2013
- Early registration: 8 January 2014


Variability management is a major challenge in the development,
maintenance, and evolution of software-intensive systems. VaMoS 2014
focuses broadly on innovative work in the area of variability modelling
and management. We particularly invite contributions with a strong
variability modelling aspect, but also addressing the wider area of
variability management, e.g., requirements, architecture, analysis,
implementation, and evolution.  The VaMoS workshop series aims at
bringing together researchers and practitioners from different areas
dedicated to mastering variability to discuss advantages, drawbacks, and
complementarities of various approaches and to present new results for
mastering variability throughout the whole lifecycle of systems, system
families, and product lines.

The workshop will feature invited keynotes as well as peer-reviewed
paper presentations. We welcome submissions on the following topics:

- Variability across the software lifecycle
- Separation of concerns and modularity
- Variability evolution
- Variability mining and reverse-engineering
- Feature, aspect, and service orientation
- Software configuration management and version control
- Architecture and design approaches for variability
- Software economic aspects of variability
- Visualization and management of variability
- Adaptivity at runtime and development time
- Reasoning about variability
- Analysis of models and artifacts with variability
- Programming languages and tool support
- Case studies, empirical studies and experience reports

Please contact the PC chairs if uncertain about suitability of your
paper for inclusion into the VAMOS program.

VaMoS 2014, like the previous VaMoS workshops, will be a highly
interactive event. Each session is organized such that discussions among
presenters of papers, discussants and other participants are stimulated.
Typically, after a paper is presented, it is immediately discussed by
pre-assigned discussants, after which a free discussion involving all
participants follows. Each session is closed by a general discussion of
all papers presented in the session.  The workshop language is English.

Attendance to VAMOS is open as an experiment this year.

Invited Speakers
Bran Selic, Malina Software, CA
Juha Savolainen, Danfoss Power Electronics, DK

Submissions Types
- Research papers describing novel contributions to the field of
- Problem statements describing open issues of theoretical or practical
- Reports on positive or negative experiences with techniques and tools
   related to VaMoS.
- Surveys and comparative studies that investigate pros, cons and
   complementarities of existing VaMoS-related approaches.
- Research-in-progress reports including research results at a premature
- Vision papers stating where the research in the field should be
   heading towards.
- Demonstrations describing the variability-related features of software
   development tools.

The length of the submitted papers should be between 4 and 8 pages in
ACM proceedings format
(http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates choose
option 2, tighter alternate style).

The proceedings will be available to participants during the event, and
archived in ACM Digital Library. Previous editions of VaMoS have been
indexed by DBLP.

!!!NEW!!! The authors of best papers accepted for VAMOS'14 will be 
invited to submit full versions to a special section of the Springer's 
SoSyM journal devoted to this edition of the workshop (subject to a 
separate review process).

Steering Committee
Ulrich Eisenecker, University of Leipzig, DE
Patrick Heymans, PReCISE, University of Namur, BE
Kyo-Chul Kang, Pohang University of Science and Technology, KR
Andreas Metzger, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE
Klaus Pohl, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE

General Chair
Philippe Collet, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis – I3S/CNRS, FR

Program Co-Chairs
Andrzej Wasowski, IT University of Copenhagen, DK
Thorsten Weyer, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE

Program Committee
Eduardo Almeida, Recife Center for Advanced Studies and Systems, BR
Vander Alves, University of Brasília, BR
Sven Apel, University of Passau, DE
Maurice H. Ter Beek, Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell’Informazione 
Pisa, IT
Nelly Bencomo, Aston University, UK
David Benavides, University of Seville, SP
Thorsten Berger, IT University of Copenhagen, DK
Danilo Beuche, pure-systems GmbH, DE
Jan Bosch, Chalmers University of Technology, SE
Goetz Botterweck, University of Limerick, IE
Manfred Broy, Technical University of Munich, DE
Philippe Collet, Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, FR
Krzysztof Czarnecki, University of Waterloo, CA
Oscar Diaz, University of the Basque Country, SP
Martin Erwig, Oregon State University, US
Alessandro Fantechi, University of Florence & ISTI-CNR, Pisa, IT
Jeff Gray, University of Alabama, US
Paul Gruenbacher, Johannes Kepler University Linz, AT
Øystein Haugen, SINTEF Oslo, NO
Patrick Heymans, Universite de Namur, BE
Veit Jahns, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE
Jean-Marc Jézéquel, University of Rennes 1, FR
Isabel John, FH Würzburg Schweinfurt, DE
Christian Kästner, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Tomoji Kishi, Waseda University, JP
Jaejoon Lee, Lancaster University, UK
Frank Van Der Linden, Philips Healthcare, NL
Richard Pohl, University of Duisburg Essen, DE
Christian Prehofer, fortiss Munich, DE
Rick Rabiser, Johannes Kepler University Linz, AT
Mark-Oliver Reiser, Technical University Berlin, DE
Camille	Salinesi, CRI, Université de Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, FR
Ina Schaefer, Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE
Klaus Schmid, University of Hildesheim, DE
Vanessa Stricker, University of Duisburg Essen, DE
Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN Research Centre
Karina Villela, Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software 
Engineering, DE
Claudia Werner, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, BR
and the PC chairs

associate prof. Andrzej Wąsowski,  http://www.itu.dk/~wasowski
IT University, Rued Langgaards Vej 7, 2300 Copenhagen, Denmark
room 4D10 phone +45 7218 5086 fax *5001 skype wasowski_andrzej

More information about the Types-announce mailing list