[TYPES] CSL'06 workshops and Ackermann Award

Computer Science Logic '06 Conference csl06 at inf.u-szeged.hu
Tue Oct 4 04:01:29 EDT 2005

                CSL  2006  Call For Workshop Proposals

Computer Science Logic (CSL) is the annual conference series of the
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL). The 15th
Annual Conference, CSL 2006, will take place in Szeged, Hungary,
from September 25 to September 29, 2006.  It will be organized by the
Department of Foundations of Computer Science at the University
of Szeged.

Workshops affiliated to CSL 2006 will be held before and after the
main conference, on September 23 and 24, and on September 30 and
October 1, 2006.

Researchers and practitioners are invited to submit proposals for
workshops on topics relating logic to computer science.

Proposals should include:

* A short scientific summary and justification of the proposed topic.
* Proposed format and agenda.
* Proposed duration.
* Procedures for selecting participants and papers.
* Expected number of participants.
* Potential invited speakers.
* Plans for dissemination (e.g. proceedings, journal special issue).

Workshop organizers are expected to be present during their workshops.
Full proposals are due November 15, 2005 and will be evaluated
by the CSL 2006 Workshop Committee on the basis of their assessed
benefit for prospective participants of CSL 2006. Acceptance decisions
will be made by December 1, 2005.

The members of the Workshop Committee are:

Matthias Baaz (Vienna),
Damian Niwinski (Warsaw) and
Sandor Vagvolgyi (Szeged, chair).

Proposals and/or enquiries should be submitted by electronic
mail in ASCII, PDF or postscript format to:

Sandor Vagvolgyi
CSL 2006 Workshop Chair
Email: vagvolgy at inf.u-szeged.hu

The titles and brief information related to accepted workshop proposals
will be included in the conference program and advertised in the Call
for Participation. Workshop organizers will be responsible for producing
a Call for Papers, web site, reviewing and making acceptance decisions
on submitted papers, collecting funds for invited speakers, and
scheduling workshop activities in consultation with the local organizers.

Important dates :
November 15, 2005: Workshop proposals
December 1, 2005: Acceptance decisions

CSL 2006 Web site: http://www.inf.u-szeged.hu/~csl06/


Ackermann Award 2006
Nominations are solicted for the
Ackermann Award 2006.

The EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science
(The Ackermann Award) will be presented to
the recipients at the annual conference of the EACSL (CSL'06).
The jury is entitled to give more than one award
per year. The first Ackermann Award was presented at CSL'05.

The 2005 recipients were
Mikolaj Bojanczyk
Konstantin Korovin
Nathan Segerlind

Eligible for the 2006 Ackermann Award are PhD dissertations in
topics specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were
formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent
institution between 1.1.2004 and 31.12. 2005.

The deadline for submission is 31.1.2006.

Submission details are available at

The award consists of

* a diploma,
* an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
* the publication of the abstract of the thesis and the laudation
   in the CSL proceedings,
* travel support to attend the conference.

The jury consists of seven members:

* The president of EACSL, J. Makowsky (Haifa);
* The vice-president of EACSL, D. Niwinski (Warsaw);
* One member of the LICS organizing committee, S. Abramnsky (Oxford);
* B. Courcelle (Bordeaux);
* E. Graedel (Aachen);
* M. Hyland (Cambridge);
* A. Razborov (Moscow and Princeton).

More information about the Types-list mailing list