[TYPES/announce] ETAPS Doctoral Dissertation Award 2023

jan.kofron at d3s.mff.cuni.cz jan.kofron at d3s.mff.cuni.cz
Fri Oct 7 09:30:36 EDT 2022

ETAPS Doctoral Dissertation Award

The European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software Association
has established a Doctoral Dissertation Award to promote and recognize 
outstanding dissertations in the research areas covered by the four main ETAPS
conferences (ESOP, FASE, FoSSaCS, and TACAS).

Doctoral dissertations are evaluated with respect to originality, relevance, and
impact to the field, as well as the degree of reproducibility (where this 
applies). The award winner will receive a monetary prize and will be recognized
at the ETAPS Banquet.


Eligible for the award is any PhD student whose doctoral dissertation is in the
scope of the ETAPS conferences and who completed their doctoral degree at
a European academic institution in the period from January 1st, 2022 to
December 31st, 2022. 


Award candidates should be nominated by their supervisor. Members of the Award
Committee are not allowed to nominate their own PhD students for the award.

Nominations consist of a single PDF file (extension .pdf) containing:
* name and email address of the candidate
* a short curriculum vitae of the candidate
* name and email address of the supervisor
* an endorsement letter from the supervisor
* the final version of the doctoral dissertation
* institution and department that has awarded the doctorate
* a document certifying that the doctoral degree was successfully completed 
  within the eligibility period 
* a report from at least one examiner of the dissertation who is not affiliated
  with the candidate's institution
* (optional) extra endorsement letters 

All documents must be written in English. Nominations are welcome regardless of
whether results that are part of the dissertation have been published at ETAPS.

Nominations should be submitted via EasyChair:


The deadline for nominations is January 16th, 2023.

Award Committee

Caterina Urban (chair)
Nobuko Yoshida (representing ESOP)
Reiko Heckel (representing FASE)
Andrzej Murawski (representing FoSSaCS)
Kim G. Larsen (representing TACAS)
Marieke Huisman
Sebastian Wolff


All questions about submissions should be emailed to the chair of the award
committee, Caterina Urban <caterina.urban at inria.fr>.

More information about the Types-announce mailing list